THE Mca would like to invite you to SUBMIT A PROJECT FOR OUR 2024 Awards program - (For work completed in 2023)

The MCA Awards Program Winning Projects are presented at the Annual Awards Banquet concluding the MCA Annual Conference. This year, the MCA Annual Conference will be held at the St. John's Resort in Plymouth, MI. We will continue what we started last year and the awards program will also take place as a Virtual Event using our Blog and Social Media channels. The MCA will be announcing the project winners at the 2024 workshop and then via our social media channels with an article dedicated to the project and a shareable link.

Winning Projects will receive the following:

  • Engraved awards plaque
  • MCA Awards Banquet Presentation
  • MCA Website shareable link Dedicated to the Specific Project
  • Printable .PDF Poster File
  • A specific day that the project will be highlighted on all MCA Social Media Platforms
  • Option to schedule an Awards Presentation at Your Local Board Meeting


Awards Program Objective – Concrete construction projects are rated annually to determine the best projects designed and constructed or restored during the past year.  The MCA Awards Program is intended to encourage high-quality workmanship in every concrete project.  This program recognizes the contractor, project owner, and engineer (where appropriate).

Nominations – MCA Members, MDOT, Airport Authorities, County Road Commissions, Municipal Public Works Departments, County, and Municipal Engineers, and Consulting Engineers, are invited to nominate candidate projects constructed in the state of Michigan for each of the categories.  Projects should be nominated on the basis of innovation, quality, speed of construction, and/or complexity.  Nominations will be due by October 13, 2023, for concrete projects that will be completed by December 31, 2023. Projects will be judged during the first and second weeks of November.

Project Submittals – This nomination form represents the minimum requirements for submitting a project in the awards program.  Please include any extra information that the review panel would need to review your project.

Project Categories – Below are examples of the most common project types.

  • Flatwork
  • Decorative
  • Commercial and Industrial Parking Lots
  • Pervious Concrete
  • Structural Concrete
  • Divided Highways (Urban, Rural)
  • Ramps/Interchanges
  • Intersections
  • Collectors
  • Residential Streets
  • Subdivisions
  • Concrete Pavement Restoration (CPR)
  • Special Innovative

Review Panel – A select panel of persons involved in the concrete design and construction industry, chosen by MCA Staff, will visit and rate all of the projects nominated.

Presentation of Awards – All awards will be presented in person at the MCA Annual Workshop as well as highlighted digitally as stated above.


The review panel will award points to each project based on the information provided in the nomination package and visual inspection of the project.  Notification of the results will be sent to the contact person by December 1, 2023


Awards can be nominated using the form below. The nominations must be received by October 13, 2023. 

Please direct all questions to Steve Waalkes


Submit a project

MCA Awards Program